



Fall/Winter 2023

Presenting the Dream of Human Flight®



Members of the Hall of Fame from Across the Globe Attend the 2023 Induction Ceremony

Front row from left: Yasu Kubo, Gustavo Cabana, Pat Moorehead, Andy Keech, Amy Chmelecki, John Higgins, Bruce Wicks

Second row from left: Jan Works (representing Pat Works), Bill Coe, Larry Hill, Kim Emmons Knor

Third row from left: Jack Jefferies, Chris Gay, Henny Wiggers, Eliana Rodriguez, Tee Taylor, Cheryl Stearns, Jon Devore, Mike McGowan, Brenda Reid, Tom Sanders, Xiaoli Lai, Mischa Tiny Shuck (representing Tiny Broadwick)

Top row from left: Bruno Brokken, Shannon Pilcher, Ian Bobo, Craig Girard, Alan Eustace, Omar Alhegelan, Graeme Windsor, Bill Kitchen

Photo by Randy Forbes

STAR Wall (Skydiver Tribute and Recognition Wall) Is Online

Almost 200 people have chosen to recognize friends, teammates, relatives, clubs, drop zones and teams on the STAR (Skydiver Tribute and Recognition) Wall. The STAR Wall will be a central element of the Honor Garden on the north side of the International Skydiving Museum & Hall of Fame.

People often refer to their inscriptions as a "brick." We are moving away from this terminology since the wall will be constructed of a more durable material.



So we are ready to have each recognition on the wall ready to inscribe; we have put all the information we have for the wall on our website. You will find the listing of inscriptions by going to www.SkydivingMuseum.org. Once there, click on Join the Team, then STAR Wall.

If you donated to the Wall:

- Go to our website to verify your inscription is accurate.
- If your inscription is missing, please provide it to our Museum Administrator, Nancy Kemble Wilhelm, at nkemble@skydivingmuseum.org.
- If there is a note next to your name about the format for inscriptions, that means the inscription that was provided at the time of your donation did not conform to the format, or you have not yet provided an inscription. If so, please contact Nancy Kemble with modifications/an inscription.

Have fun going through the listings and inscriptions. Many of the names are likely to bring back fond memories.

2023 Hall of Fame Celebration at Skydive Arizona

Photos by Randy Forbes



2023 Hall of Fame Celebration at Skydive Arizona

Photos by Randy Forbes







Breaking News—Save the Date for the 2024 Hall of Fame Celebration

Mark your calendars for September 26-28, 2024, for the International Skydiving Hall of Fame Celebration at Skydive Chicago, Ottawa, Illinois, USA. We will be honoring the Hall of Fame Class of 2024 and awarding the 2024 Path and Pioneers of Excellence Awards. Watch our website (www.skydivingmuseum.org) for details in early 2024.



Nominate NOW for '24 Hall of Fame and Path & Pioneers of Excellence Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the International Skydiving Hall of Fame Class of 2024 and the 2024 Path and Pioneers of Excellence Awards. The deadline for

> Hall of Fame nominations is **December 31st**. The Path/Pioneers of Excellence deadline is February 1st.

The Hall of Fame recognizes and honors those who, through leadership, innovation and/or outstanding achievements, have defined, promoted, and advanced by skydiving at the highest and sustained levels such that they have made it possible for generations

of skydivers to enjoy the sport.

INTERNATIONAL

SKYDIVING HALL OF FAME

The Path of Excellence Award is specifically for entities—groups, companies,



organizations or teams—for significant contribution(s) of enduring high value to the world of skydiving. In 2021, the Pioneers of Excellence Award was added to recognize entities that contributed in the '70s and before.



Visit our website for further details and a nomination form, or contact Nancy (Kemble) Wilhelm, Museum Administrator. All nominations will be kept confidential.

We Make It Easy to Donate!

The museum has several new ways to accept donations:

- Credit Cards: American Express, Discover, Visa, MasterCard
- Checks
- Wire Transfers
- PayPal
- Direct Deposit: Money goes directly from the donor's account to the museum's checking account.

Visit the museum's website and click on **Donate** to access all ways to give. If you have any questions, please contact museum headquarters at 407/900-9997 or nkemble@skydivingmuseum.org.

Chuting Times is a biannual newsletter for museum supporters and volunteers.

Editor: Nancy (Kemble) Wilhelm

Trustees

Lewis Sanborn Honorary President

Christopher J. Needels Chairman

> Graeme K. Windsor President / CEO

> > Paul Fayard Vice President

Marylou Laughlin Secretary

Lee Schlichtemeier Treasurer

> Curt Bachman Trustee

Sherry Butcher Trustee

James F. Curtis III Trustee

Dana P. Engelstad, CPA Trustee

> Cris Fucci Trustee

Chris Gay Trustee

James La Barrie Trustee

Roberto Montañez Trustee

Brian Day O'Connor

Trustee

Gillian Rayner Trustee

Sandy R. Reid Trustee

Adam Schmucker Trustee

> Larry Stein Trustee

Pat Thomas Trustee

Col. Bruce J. Wicks, USA, Ret. Trustee

> Greg Windmiller Trustee

The Hon. George H. W. Bush Honorary Chairman 2000-2018

> Jim McCormick Director of Development jm@skydivingmuseum.org

Nancy (Kemble) Wilhelm Museum Administrator nkemble@skydivingmuseum.org

International Skydiving Museum & Hall of Fame 1648 Taylor Road, Suite 514 Port Orange, FL 32128 Phone: (407) 900-9997